Almond milk

A friend of mine said she made her own almond milk and I could not think about anythig else until I tried this myself!

image

I used:
5 cups raw almonds
1 vanilla bean
3 dates
Water

So the common recipe for making almond milk goes like this: soak 1 cup of almonds in 4 cups of water for 8 – 12 hours. Strain almonds. Blend almonds with 4 cups of water. Strain almonds through nut milk bag. Voila, you have milk.

One site I found said you can add a vanilla bean when blending the almonds, another suggested using a pitted date. I decided to try both since I have never made milk before. I bought 5 cups of almonds, split them in half and tried both.  After following the recipes, I definitely prefer the date to the vanilla bean, but I am curious how vanilla extract would taste. I would also use less water, I prefer my almond milk to be more creamy and thick.

Leave a Reply

